Law Enforcement Advisory Committee

Purpose

To coordinate with the Orange County Sheriff’s Department to assess crime prevention and traffic violation control issues and to provide recommendations to enhance programs to Council.

Committee Members

The Committee consists of two (2) City Councilmember's (the members that hold the position on the Community Development and Public Safety Committee), Neighborhood Watch representative(s), supervising Sheriff Department Lieutenant, up to six (6) resident Law Enforcement professionals and one (1) resident Public Safety Responder representative. Committee Members themselves will elect the Chair and Vice-Chair.

Member Title
Term Start
Term End Email
John Whitman Chair/Resident Law Enforcement Representative
01/24/2017 01/31/2019 jwhitman@villapark.org
Richard Murg Resident Law Enforcement Representative
01/24/2017 01/31/2019 rmurg@villapark.org
Mike Felix Resident Law Enforcement Representative
12/15/2015 01/31/2018
mfelix@villapark.org
Jay Wasserman Resident Law Enforcement Representative
12/15/2015 01/31/2018 jwasserman@villapark.org
Erik Reynolds Resident Law Enforcement Representative
12/15/2015 01/31/2018 ereynolds@villapark.org
Vacant
Resident Law Enforcement Representative
     
Tom Dodge
Public Safety Responder Representative
 04/28/2017  01/31/2019 tdodge@villapark.org
Vince Rossini
City Council Representative
 01/09/2017  12/31/2017 vrossini@villapark.org
Robert Collacott
City Council Representative
 01/09/2017  12/31/2017 rcollacott@villapark.org

Neighborhood Watch Representative: Wayne Silzel 

Staff Representative: City Manager, Steve Franks 

Orange County Sheriff Representative: Lt. Jeff Puckett 

Length of Term

City Council Committee Members shall be appointed or removed by a majority vote of the City Council annually, based on the Mayor’s recommendation, which will be provided no less than 72 hours in advance of the meeting as part of the staff report. Up to six (6) resident law enforcement professionals and one (1) resident Public Safety Responder representative shall be appointed by the City Council for a term of two years on a staggered basis. Non-council committee members shall serve at the pleasure of the City Council, and may be removed at anytime by action of the City Council. 

Meetings

Second Monday every other month at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers, unless otherwise noted.